Turns out there is a whole world of opportunities out there

It never occurred to me till the other day when I was looking out at the beach (how poetic I know) and my host brother pointed out that the land, just a 20 minute boat ride away, was Sweden. There was literally a whole other country just 20 minutes away. I could see a new place, a new culture and a new way of life whist being emerged in a completely different country. There is literally a whole world right outside and all I want to do is experience it. There is so much out there and I want to see it, I want to be able to see a new country in a matter of minutes, be able to meet incredible new people who see life a whole lot different to the way I have always seen it.

Odd/Cool/Different things about Denmark!!!!!!

  • When you turn 18 the government gives you free money simply just for being a teenager who has to study and would rather spend their time on school work than slaving away at a job to pay for an education (take some notes John Key) also the minimum amount you can get is around $1200 NZD a month due to living at home and your parents income. Yes I know you are all probably throwing your laptops and cursing the New Zealand government right now, I know I am.
  • Just when you thought being 18 couldn’t get much cooler, university is also free, so free money for stuff you want not just to pay back those delightful student loans everyone seems to love
  • Danes are extremely sarcastic, like I thought I was bad but you haven’t experienced subtle sarcasm till you have met a Dane.
  • You have to pack your own grocery’s at the supermarket, I know it sounds as terrible as it is, do you put the eggs first or the milk? I don’t know
  • You get odd looks if you say thank you when someone holds a door open for you or does something nice.
  • If you smile at strangers they will walk faster or as I have experienced even go to the lengths of crossing the road to get away from you.
  • You call your teachers by their first name and it is normal to swear in class and not get in trouble. Also quick side note you are allowed to grow as much facial hair as you desire, no principle handing out razors.
  • There is a party every month at the school with a DJ and the teachers serve you alcohol, what I would pay to see Randal host one of those!
  • Its not really normal to eat a lot of takeout, every likes to make their own food instead of getting Mc Donalds. Also there are only 4 KFC’s in the whole of Denmark..
  • It is true that everyone wears a lot of black, even the dogs mostly seem to be black.

And with that I shall leave you with a quote, it is about dogs because, well I miss my dog very much so.

“Know yourself. Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful.” – Ann Landers

One thought on “Turns out there is a whole world of opportunities out there

  1. You know , ( you probably don’t know or I wouldn’t be writing this 😉 ) your mother has been on that ferry to Sweden, both ways no less.

    Like

Leave a comment